Latest News  
  • Flatten the Curve. Stay Home. Stay Safe.

CBSE Far East Zone Badminton Tournament 2016 is organized in DAV Model School, Durgapur from 28th – 30th November, 2016.

256 students, both boys and girls, from 39 schools of Assam, Orissa, Chattisgarh and West Bengal had participated in this 3 days tournament  which was inaugurated in the School auditorium after the Flag hoisting and march past.

Shri ShankhaSantra, Sub-Divisional Magistrate, Durgapur graced the occasion as the chief guest. Dr. N. N. Kulshrestha, Director (I/c), M & HS, DSP Main Hospital and Shri Soumen Bhattacharjee, Alumnus and International Badminton Player,  were present there as the Guest of Honour and Special Guest. 12 officials will conduct this tournament in 6 categories, viz under 14 boys / girls, under 17 boys / girls, under 19 boys / girls. A welcome song by the host school choir and a dance recital brought a different flavor to the inaugural ceremony. ShriSantra, in his address to the participants, emphasized on the importance of sports and games in the students’ life and the need to learn the essential human values. Ms.Papiya Mukherjee, Principal cum Assistant Regional Director of DAV Model School, urged the students to participate in the co-curricular activities as they help in shaping ones personality.

The Valedictory Programme was graced by Shri Indrajit Sarkar, AEO, ADDA, Durgapur, Shri Ramen Ghosh, Arjuna Awardee and Medallist in Asian Games, Shri Badal Bhattacharya, NIS Coach, Principals of different DAV Public / Model Schools along with Mrs. Papiya Mukherjee, Organising  Principal cum Asstt. Regional Director of DAV Schools, West Bengal Zone. Shri Indrajit Sarkar cited examples of various sports celebrities to encourage the participants. Shri Badal Bhattacharya urged the students to maintain a balance between study and sports which would sharpen their personality. Shri Ramen Ghosh, having appreciated the endeavour of organizing school, stressed on the importance of dedication and devotion in pursuit of excellence. He expressed his firm belief that with the infrastructural support that Durgapur offers, India will certainly have Champions from this place. The Valediction Ceremony ended with his declaration of the Tournament closed.

The result of the tournament under different age categories is as below :

  1. Under-14 Girls, Winner, DAV Model School, Durgapur, WB
  2. Under-14 Girls, Runners Up, Delhi Public School, Bhilai, Chattishgarh
  3. Under-14, Boys, Winner Faculty High School, Guwahati, Assam.
  4. Under-14 Boys, Runners Up, Hem Sheela Model School, Durgapur, W.B.
  5. Under-17 Girls, Winner, Delhi Public School, Bhilai, Chattishgarh
  6. Under-17 Girls, Runners Up, BDM International School, Kolkata, WB
  7. Under-17 Boys Winner, Boys, Winner, Delhi Public School, Raipur, Chattishgarh
  8. Under-17 Boys, Runners Up, OP Jindal, Patrapalli, Raigarh, Chattishgarh
  9. Under-19 Girls, Winner, Royal Global School, Assam
  10. Under-19 Girls, Runners Up, Delhi Public School, Raipur, Chattishgarh
  11. Under-19 Boys, Winner, Oriental Public School, Chattishgarh
  12. Under-19 Boys, Runners Up, DAV Model School, Durgapur, WB


  • Best Player – Under 14 Boys - Anurag Talukdar, Faculty High School, Assam
  • Best Player – Under 14 Girls – Rasika Das, DAV Model School, Durgapur
  • Best Player – Under 17 Boys – Joyditya Pratap Singh, Delhi Public School, Raipur, Chattishgarh
  • Best Player – Under 17 Girls – Srinjal Singh, Delhi Public School, Bhilai, Chattishgarh
  • Best Player – Under 19 Boys – Md. Azan, DAV Model School, Durgapur
  • Best Player – Under 19 Girls – Deepshikha Dutta, Royal Global School, Assam

............................Click here for Photo Gallery..........................